In many countries, the government prioritizes economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

Economic development is the first priority for many governments across the world. The major advantage is reduction in the number of unemployed people, and disadvantage being increased air and noise pollution levels. However, this essay agrees that economic growth is more important as it can help in building a nation and also tackle pollution related issues.

The major disadvantage is rise in air and noise pollution levels which affect the quality of life. To expedite commercial activities, cities around the world have lost forest cover around it and are surrounded by industries which constantly release carbon and many toxic metals into the air, in addition to this, the increasing number of automobiles on the roads have also contributed in deteriorating the quality of air and increasing sound levels. This has led to many respiratory illnesses among people. For instance, according to WHO, Delhi has the worst air quality index which resulted in irreversible lung damage in more than 40% of children. However, countries with stronger economy are able to reduce pollution levels using technology more effectively as compared to nations with poor economy.

Financial development provides job opportunities for people of different ages and gender. For a sustainable economic growth, governments have to increase manufacturing of goods and services from various sectors such as textiles, automobiles, pharmaceuticals and so on, in order to fulfill these demands massive workforce is needed. Subsequently, average income of people increases which helps the government to generate more money through tax and improve public sector. For example, the unemployment rate in India has been significantly reduced since two decades, after prioritizing economic development, which significantly increased the tax revenue. Governments can utilize this fund to invest in technology to reduce pollution and conserve environment.

To conclude, although economic growth leads to significant air and noise pollution it generates employment and stronger economy which can help in improving the quality of life of people.