In some countries, younger people are neglecting their rights to vote. What problems does this cause and what are some of the possible solutions?

Many youngsters in different nations are deciding not to vote during the elections. The result of this leads to a selection of those candidates favored by middle-aged and older adults, so in order to motivate the younger population to vote, the voting booths should be placed at places were youngsters go more frequently.

As leaders ruling the democratic countries are chosen by people who vote, policies benefiting older people are enabled when the younger population does not vote. The issues related to the middle-aged and older population, like changes in the tax system, pension schemes and building old- age homes, become priorities for the government. The policies related to the younger population are not given importance, because members representing the young adults fail to get elected. For example, after the 2017 election in which only 5% of under 25s voted, the state government of Maharashtra increased pension payments for elderly people aged 65 and above by 5%.

The solution to making the young population vote in the election is to install polling booths in places young people frequent. In many countries, the election day is a national holiday, and many young people flock to shopping malls and cinemas instead of polling stations. They feel visiting an election booth may cost them an entire day and will ruin their chance to enjoy their holiday. Hence, voting booths should be installed at places like shopping malls, as seeing these booths will stimulate young adults to participate in the voting process, and therefore, two purposes will be served, voting and entertainment. For example, in Mumbai, during the 2019 assembly election, voting booths placed at multiplexes were visited by 75% more young people than those placed in more traditional locations.

To conclude, many youngsters do not exercise their right to vote in many countries which results in the formation of a government that fails to address their problems. However, placing voting booths at places visited regularly by young adults will make voting more appealing to them.