Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

It is often argued that even though more than half of the working population consists of females in many developed nations, males hold top-level positions in many organizations. Hence, companies should assign a certain proportion of these positions to females. This essay disagrees with the statement as selection at executive level post should be merit-based and companies may hire unsuitable candidates for the job if the selection criteria are gender based.

Positions in companies, which are well paid and have a high status, should be given to the candidates having higher educational qualification and experience. Because these positions require candidates to have professional as well as social skills, in order to create a supportive working environment for the workers, which ultimately enhance productivity and profits for an organization. If these qualities are possessed by a man or woman, then that suitable candidate should be selected for the given post. For example, the post of Field Manager at the Tata motor units is selected on the basis of educational qualification and diplomatic communication skills.

While compelling companies to employ a female candidate for top-ranking position may result in hiring of a candidate not compatible for the job. This means that if companies allocate a fixed proportion of jobs to females, in the absence of suitable candidates, they have to hire females with less educational qualification and field experience. This spoils the working atmosphere and creates a negative impact on the fellow workers. For instance, in a well known reputed hospital at Pune, the CEO post was given to a woman for being a close relative of one of the board member in the absence of a potential candidate, and this led to immediate resignation of 15 doctors from the hospital.

In conclusion, selection at high level positions in companies should not be based on gender but should be on merit basis, and if companies allocate some of these positions to women they may choose the incompatible workers to do the job.