Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make?

Has this become a positive or negative development?

In recent times, modern innovations in technology have altered the way we communicate with each other. This essay will discuss how people of like mind from all over the world can connect using technology and form relations, and also believes that this trend is overall a negative development.

The modern communication technology has made it possible for the like-minded people across different countries to connect with each other. Through the use of internet service on computers and smart phones, people get access to various online communities and forums where individuals sharing common interests, ideas or likings can easily make connections. Hence, citizens belonging to different nations, cultures and ethnicities can talk on a common topic and get a chance to know each other. This ultimately results in a friendship-like relation but a virtual one. For example, a Facebook group dedicated to the Indian Premiere League had connected cricket fans from Australia, England and India together and later on these fans became online friends.

Nonetheless, this phenomenon seems to provide some benefits but overall it is a negative development because online relationships are of shorter duration. Some people join various online forums or social sites only to satisfy their personal goals. Initially, an individual appears to be nice, humble and good for a limited period of time, once the purpose is met with; people start ignoring each other. In addition, various settings available on online sites can easily help a person to hide and become a ghost. For example, in a Times of India survey, 60% of adults admitted that their virtual friends lasted till the time they shared a common purpose and after it was achieved they ended their conversations.

To conclude, though the web technology has shrunken the world where people with similar mind can easily connect and chat with each other and make friendship-like relationship, this essay does not welcome this change because these do not last long