Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that the most effective way of improving public health is by building more sports structures while some advocate that this would not have a significant impact on public health and other important actions are needed. This essay sides with the latter statement as lack of education have led to poor dietary habits which result in many diseases.

On one hand, the primary reason behind the viewpoint to increase the number of recreational centers is lack of venues and facilities for sports or leisure activities in crowded cities. As local governments in major cities spent massive budgets on construction of residential apartments and commercial centers, places for recreational activities are almost neglected. For example, in 2018, a survey conducted by Times of India, in Mumbai, showed that 45% of the people simply do not exercise due to lack of sports facilities. However, this essay argues that making places for doing physical activities or playing sports will not improve overall public health and education related to eating habits is equally more important.

On the other hand, others believe that apart from creating more sports facilities, public campaigns about consuming healthy food regularly could impact public health. Most common public health disorders such as Obesity, Diabetes and Hypertension are due to wrong eating habits, which are eating junk food and poor meal timings. For instance, a report by Mumbai general hospital revealed that 45% of their patient’s health improved only with modification of food habits, this resulted in significant reduction of the number of pills consumed by the patients. For this reason, this essay believes that education on dietary habits is more important.

In conclusion, although some people believe that increasing the sports centers would improve public health, this essay finds that education on healthy diet is the most effective way to upgrade health of people.