Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. What problems are caused by this issue? What can be done to solve this situation?

With the hope for a better livelihood and career opportunities, many young adults abandon rural places and migrate towards metropolitan cities, resulting in a large population of old and elder people behind. This has created social and economic problems which needs local and community support to address them.

Majority of the young population residing in the countryside migrate to major cities in need for education and better job opportunities. As villages and small towns lack well developed education system, it is harder for students to excel in academics. Adding to it, limited job opportunities with minimal pay scale exacerbates the living condition in the villages. Because of such constraints, villages at present have enormous population of senior citizens who are left alone to survive. Firstly, most of them are old and frail who needs medical aid. As the age advances, they are faced with general debility and age related medical disorders and no young member to look after. It is also proven that maximum old population suffers depression due to loneliness. Secondly, most of the local traditions and customs are dying out due to such migrations, as there are no young followers to practice it.

From economic point of view, most of the people are farmers or unskilled laborers involved in local goods production which generate local revenue for the welfare of villages and small towns. As most of the older population would not be able to meet the requirement of the market for producing goods due to physical limitations, local revenue will get hammered. It would be difficult to meet ends and will add to further difficulties. Moreover, agricultural turnover would not meet the present day demand for foods and may produce food deficit for entire community.

Nonetheless, to overcome such problem local and national authorities should formulate combine steps to avoid migration of youth to cities. At local level, schools and colleges at countryside should be equipped with modern technology and equipment's to deliver quality education to pupil of rural areas. Along-with this farmers should be provided with modern instruments and provide subsidies or minimal tax for local goods. National authorities should allow industries to be set up at such rural areas which will encourage adults to stay at their native place. This will not only allow to earn good and stable income but also to practice local custom and traditions. As young adults can also look after farming with their jobs, production of goods can be maintained at steady rate.

Summing it up, mass migration of youth to cities for betterment and prosperity has led to socio-economic problems which could be sorted out with a hand from local and national authorities.