In nearly all science courses at university, there are significantly more male students than female students. What is the reason for this? What could be done to balance out the numbers?

The number of students’ studying science-related subjects at universities is dominated by males. The primary reason behind this trend is the family rules laid on women and the solution to this problem is providing financial aid from government to women studying science courses.

Females do not opt for science-related subjects due to family restrictions. They play a pivotal role in raising children, in addition, they perform household chores such as cooking meals, washing clothes and cleaning houses. As, jobs related to science field demand lengthy period of work time, it won’t be possible for women to dedicate time to fulfill their family duties and rearing of their children. For example, In India, Time’s survey showed that, 45% of females studying in universities across the country choose non-science courses that would provide them time-flexible jobs.

The solution to increase the numbers of girls studying science-related subjects at universities is government providing financial help. Girls who undertook the subject at universities should be provided with scholarships, subsequently, this will motivate their families and other girls around them to take up the subject. Also, women without families working in science and technology sectors should receive tax benefits and women with families and children should not only receive tax benefits but free access to children day-care facilities. For instance, North Maharashtra University charges only 30% of its fees to girls opting science subjects, to raise their numbers.

To conclude, though family restrictions deter women from choosing science courses, governments can offer financial help to female students and workers related to science and technology department to motivate them and their families.