In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other

concerns.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

Economic growth is prioritized by the state in many nations and other issues are ignored. This essay will discuss the benefit of raising the living standards of citizens and the drawback of compromised civilian's health.

Increasing the level of economic growth brings more revenue to a country. Therefore, this money is used to open new business in a state and as a result more employment opportunities are provided to its people. This leads to more earnings by citizens by working in these organizations, and their living standards are uplifted as they use their earnings to purchase more material things to make their lives more comfortable, and the country becomes wealthy. For example, in 2005, India's economic growth was increased by 15%, as a result, the unemployment rate was declined by 2% compared to past 5 years.

The disadvantage of civilian's health sufferings from new emerging diseases is due to ignoring the healthcare system development. The government does not provide funds to this sector, and due to this, there is a lack of new technologies and new medicines to treat these new illnesses. As a result, people suffer more than before as they do not get the correct medicine. For instance, in 2020, due to fewer breathing machines in Indian hospitals, people are suffering a lot from new Covid-19 disease as Indian government ignored to purchase these machines in the past years.

In conclusion, although prioritizing the economic growth by a few states raises the living standards of their citizens, it also brings the drawback of citizen's health sufferings.