Many countries import large amount of food from other parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

Numerous governments tend to fulfill their food bank by importing from other countries. Yet, the tendency has created a controversial topic in those communities as to discuss whether the government doing is benevolent or malevolent. Personally, I regard such policy as a disadvantage since importation demonstrates a sole fact that a country is lack in the sufficient conditions to provide its inhabitant with enough food.

To begin with, a country is forced to import when its population is rising at an incessant rate, and the situation is even exacerbated for smaller countries. For example, Singaporean have increased in quantities over the past few years due to the place's attractive living conditions. This has made the unprepared government purchase more food from the foreign to both satisfied the inhabitants and upkeep its livable trend. What makes this negative is that importation is overly expensive and hinders the authorities from allocating their budget for other social services. However, imported products lead to other consequences such as tax augment and much more expensive bills. Those factors would seem unfavorable to the citizen especially the immigrants, hence lead to their leaving the current country for another. Ultimately, the foreign bought consumptions will be left redundant once most people have chosen to live in other places.

Excessive importation is a sign of natural resources and farmland depletion. This is mostly caused by industrialization and modernization as the expansion for more industrial regions and man accommodations. These overtake the lands that are supposedly used for agricultural activities and farming. Furthermore, those areas might be not taken by the urban but are contaminated by industrial wastes. Consequently, the governments are to import food to prevent further hunger and crisis in the cities. However, the urban dwellers will have to suffer from both environmental contamination’s damage and the surprisingly high cost of livings. Additionally, I also reckon that if more countries are to used their lands to the point that domestic supplies become limited, a global crisis will occur. Africa’s suffering in the last two decades is the most likely example. Although the size of land there is enormous, the local leaders chose to mine ores and allow foreign companies to use the space and increased the country's revenues. This had left millions dead because crops and supplies were either not enough or of low quality.

Overall, a food-importing policy is much likely a negative trend and leads to several repercussions. Therefore, those leading individuals are to have considered policies to the problems.