In many countries insufficient respect is shown to older people. What do you think may be the reason for this? What problems might this cause in society?

Showing respect to elder people has always been a highly-encouraged behavior. However, in today’s world, it seems that young citizens are not paying enough effort to achieve this. Many reasons have been given for this negative trend, and some of them are considered the most reasonable.

In the past, family members communicating with each other is a part of their daily life. They used to tell stories, share their thoughts, and have fun together. Yet, when the world is growing and developing continually, adults have to spend more of their time busy with works. As a result, they fail to teach their children about family bonds and value. They leave their kids alone with technology, and technology is not always a good teacher. Because of the lack of proper teaching from grown-ups, many youngsters simply could not realize the importance of being respectful to elderlies.

As noted previously, technology might either be wonderful or terrible for a child. Of course, many sources on the Internet are completely useful and efficient, but not all of them. Some websites contain false information and knowledge about the outside world and lead our children to mistakes. On some social networks, where some teenagers spend most of their time, improper words and useless entertaining are everywhere. They consider everybody as their "friends" and deny the action of showing respect to older citizens. Consequently, younger people will act as ‘copy cats’, and respectfulness will soon be forgotten.

Although this is a serious problem, some resolutions can still be done to lessen it. Adults, especially those with children, should organize their timetables in a wiser way and spend more of their time with children other than leaving them with modern technology. If they succeed in teaching their kids how to behave, then this trend would no longer be an issue in the future.