In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buuy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

In recent years, many people have a tendency to consume food from other countries instead of local food. This essay below will outline some reasons for this tendency and some appropriate solutions that should be taken to stimulate people buy domestic food.

To begin with, there are two mainly reasons for an increasing of citizens consuming oversea foods. Firstly, many people believe that food are produced from US or UK that often has higher qualities compared to local ones because it was produced in modern produce process with the quality inspection system. Therefore, it has more nutritional values than domestic foods. For example, salmons from Japan are well-known as the top of nutrient-dense fish so people choose it stead of salmons from Vietnam. Secondly, many countries not have financial resource enough to improve ingredients, seeds, or produce system, so they force importing food from other countries with the expensive prices.

Some measures should be taken to help domestic products their position again. The most important action is that the food companies in a country should invest more money on buying quality ingredients or updating the process of producing food with high quality. They can also focus on developing marketing campaign to transfer sufficient information of their products to customers and change their consumer behaviors. Secondly, the government should give their hands in increasing the tax on imported food and organizing more campaign to stimulate the citizen’s awareness of using local food. For instance, the campaign “Nguoi Viet dung hang Viet” would be implemented in many provinces in Vietnam and have a positive effects in changing Vietnamese’s consumer behavior in using local food.

In conclusion, people in many countries prefer to buy foreign food because of some reasons, therefore several solutions should be implemented on a large scale to encourage local citizens consume their local food.