when choosing a job, salary is the most important consideration. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that salary is the most vital factor to look out for when researching for a job. In my opinion, I do not totally agree with this idea.

On the one hand, money plays a crucial role in people’s lives. First of all, a stable income helps people to meet basic demands, especially in times of high cost of living, such as accommodation, education, health care. That is the reason why job seekers want to find a better job that earns more money. Secondly, with the extra money accumulated every month, they can support their family and ease the financial burden for their family as well, such as paying tuition fee for their siblings, buying some necessary utilities and so on. Furthermore, earning has an impact on the quality of life. People could have more opportunities to get an outstanding education or be able to use excellent health-care services.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned reasons, there are more compelling reasons why income is far from the most vital factor when choosing a job. First and foremost, job-holders tend to believe that having a career prospect is more important than having a career with a good income. That is because a potential career prospect may be a catalyst that gives them life-long motivation to climb the ladder step by step and advance their career path in the future. To add credence to my argument, some candidates would choose work environment as an important element instead of salary. A healthy working environment where they could receive the support of their fellow workers in collaborative projects or teamwork and be able to maintain constructive relationships with them. In addition, when getting a job can become intrinsic motivation, people seem to be more productive and effective, they tend to invest their work to ensure good working performance.

In conclusion, while salary is certainly important in choosing a job, I disagree with this idea that income outweighs other aspects.