Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal/ Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided as to whether economic progress or other types of progress plays a significant aim in developing a nation. In my essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why economic growth is considered as a fundamental goal for countries. Firstly, an advancing economy is a crucial contributor in determining a nation's prosperity, leading to improving living standards for citizens. This is because while the economy grows, excessive potential jobs are being generated which ensure every individual can make ends meet and enhance their quality of life. Thanks to it, the government can reduce their national poverty and create national economic development. Secondly, economic progress offers more valuable chances in investing in public services and infrastructure. Obviously, in a developing nation, these aspects are considered as a leading focusing development because of its benefits associated with economic growth such as generating an advantageous business environment. Therefore, these countries totally attract in foreign investment which contributes to their economic prosperity.

On the other hand, there are more compelling reasons why other types of progress like education are equally important for a nation. First and foremost, a good education system is vital for national development because of its contribution in human capital development. Specifically, when education is prioritized, it could create a skilled workforce who plays a role in enhancing their national productive capacity and technological development in the nation. As a result, the national competitive advantages would be enhanced on a global scale and contribute to sustainable development in the future. To add credence to my argument, investment in education has a far-reaching effect not only on every individual but also the overall economic landscape. This is because educated individuals are able to adapt to changing market demands and innovative technologies that can help them to become an entrepreneur and assist in their national development.

In conclusion, although economic growth is seen as the national aim, I believe that other types of progress like education is an important aim for sustainable national development.