In many countries, old or traditional languages are dying out or being forgotten especially by younger people. Is this an acceptable development which occurs inevitably, or is it something which we should try to prevent?

It is quite common for new generation to forget about the traditional language of the nation. The issue is not entirely straightforward, and arguments can also be made against the idea. In this essay, debate will be discussed and given a concluding view.

On the one hand, it might be said that young people see no point in sticking to traditional languages. This may range from including limited usage of language in daily life, secondary medium of communication and less career opportunities. For instance, job prospects available in the market for our native language are vey less. Furthermore, in any business meeting the primary medium of communication is English.

On the other hand, those who support the traditional languages cite many benefits it can bring to a youth. Firstly, The government should take some necessary action steps and announce to use the native language as the primary medium of communication in school be it public or private. This would help to restore the importance of old language at School Level. Secondly, Parents should teach children about the culture and values of traditional language. Finally, Student's examination paper should always be drafted and prepared in native language only despite of whatever the subject is. For instance, as per a recent study by IMF about 50% of young people have shown their interest in the traditional language while with other major subjects.

To conclude, it appears that aim of these traditional languages is to restore old language back in the lives of young people who have already forgotten it. A longer term and more thoughtful program is surely needed.