In many countries, people are choosing cars over bicycle whereas others prefer bicycles over cars. What are the problems associated with more usage of cars and how this could be solved?

The society is divided on the matter of usage of cars over bikes as many are commuting on cycles for a great cause, in contrast major proportion of population prefer private vehicles for their own comfort. However, the over usage of personal cars is degrading environment to such an extent that human race is suffering the danger of extinction so to curb it the government should highly invest its resources in field of discovering clean sources of energy.

The issue of air pollution is largely caused by industrial smoke and adding up large number of combustion engines on roads is exacerbating it. As burning of fossil fuels emit toxic fumes containing greenhouse gases which got entrapped in atmosphere, ultimately, inclining the rate of global warming. Consequently, high temperature, melting of glaciers, climate change and flooding of costal lands can have severe affects in long term. Apart from this, health issues such as acute dyspnea and skin burns are becoming a common phenomenon. A report published by G-20 summit stated that non-commercial transport system has 1/3rd contribution in overall air contamination.

This environmental catastrophe can be eliminated absolutely by following a well-planned road map by both individuals and authorities. The central policy makers should put more revenue in betterment of central transportation such as trains and local buses so that people can be pushed from cars to it. Furthermore, research efforts should pick pace in inventing low cost hybrid cars which I think can be more effective in lowering the amount of carbon footprint. To evident my point of view, the owner of Tesla, a leading electric car manufacturer, revealed that 1 million cars running on batteries can cut the air pollution by 19% in a year which is a significant number.

The effect of personal cars on biodiversity cannot be ignored as it is can erase the impression of humans because the pollutant particles released by it can deteriorate the health of people as well as changing the course of earth. To resolve this grave issue, the parliament should take stringent steps to develop the methods of extracting more and more renewable energy and reducing its dependence on petroleum products.