Some people believe that watching TV is bad for children, while others think that watching TV has more beneficial effects on children. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

The society is divided on the issue that whether spending time in front of television screen is having negative impact on children or it provides some benefits to them. In my opinion, watching TV programs under parental supervision can impart knowledge to children, whereas, long hours devoted to aimless shows can prove detrimental for them.

Viewing television events based on education enhances the imagination power as well as intelligence of adolescents. As the quiz programs telecasted involves questions from wide range of subjects such as science and history which raises the level of curiosity among children resulting in more learning. Moreover, some channels provide video lectures making it easier for children to understand lessons. To evident my point of view a report published by CBSE, an educational board of India, states that 85% children scored better in exams that developed the habit of exploring educational station.

Health issues are the most common problem aroused by allocating lion’s share of time to small screen. This is because mostly children imitate the actions performed by their favorite celebrities and indulging in violent and disturbing serials can become cause for physical and psychological deterioration. In addition to this, it also acts as distraction from studies resulting in less developed mind. However, all these demerits can be reduced to minimal level by proper guidance from elders. According to a survey conducted by UNICEF, only 8.36% of world’s children consulted for medical services due to watching aggressive reality shows on TV for 5 or more hours per day.

In the view of arguments outlined above one can conclude that television acts harmful only when the content of serials is inappropriate and used for more duration as it can have adverse effect on mental health though it can be eliminated, however, the useful content on TV can be advantageous in better growth of children by improving their thinking ability.