Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

It is a common belief among many people that raising the price of fuel for vehicles will lead to low air and noise pollution as well as no traffic issues. However, I strongly disagree that this is not the most effective solution because it will lead to inflation whereas raising direct taxes on private vehicles could prove more beneficial.

Raising the cost of petrol not only put burden of extra transportation cost but also in form of inclined price of all other commodities. This is due to fact that all the products used in household and offices are being transported from various regions to supermarkets. So ultimately, higher expenses of shipping will be passed on to consumers and customers have to bear the additional expenditures for purchasing food, clothes and any other goods. To evident my point of view, a report published by OPEC nations state that higher charges for fossil fuels effected negatively for country’s economy rather than to resolve pollution related problems.

The most prominent solution for curbing the carbon emission from vehicles is to levy incredibly excessive duties on buying cars and bikes. As heavy governmental charges will restrict people to own cars which in turn population towards public transportation. The less personal vehicles on roads not only reduces the exhaustion of carbon dioxide but also sort out the issue of expanding traffic. Singapore, despite of being a small island nation, is able to deal with both problems by introducing various types of tariff on car which raise its final price by 400%, making it non affordable for its most population.

In view of arguments outlined above, one can conclude that keeping private modes of transportation out of reach from humans can effectively assist in halting the greater exhaustion from vehicles and curtail the matter of traffic flow. In contrast steeped rate of petrol will only create anger in public due to ascended cost of supplies.