Some people think watching TV is bad for children, while others think that watching TV has more beneficial effects on children. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Whether watching television brings good or bad impacts upon kids has been a controversial issue. Both views have their advantages and disadvantages which will be elaborated below.

On the one hand, there are various benefits that children can receive from watching TV programmes including education, entertainment, and social values. The first merit from this is that TV is a valuable source of information for children. Many TV channels are functioned as knowledge providers, which specialize in supplying their audience with reliable and up-to-the-minute data about a wide range of subjects. Therefore, it helps young to attain know-how and broadens their knowledge. In addition, it is common that TV often covers entertaining contents, which are designed for young users. Songs, games, dances are popular programs that are broadcast especially for children. Finally, by watching inspiring stories about inprivileged individuals such as the homeless, poor, and disable, on TV, children would feel sympathy for those people and lucky about themselves, thereby having a sense of fullfilment. Thus, it is obvious that children can be beneficial while watching TV.

On the other hand, watching TV programs marks a negative impact on children in several dimensions. First, it exerts a burden on health of young individuals. While excessive exposure to TV screens is the main culprit of many eye-related issues, sedentary lifestyle could be attibutable to addiction to TV channels. Another negative affect from watching television stem from the loose control of the adult. In this case, if there is lack of supervision from parental roles, children are likely to watch programs that are involved in toxic or taboo graphic. These contents may encourage antisocial behaviors or unlawful acts of children. In the circumstances, if parents neglect their responsibility to look after their children, kids can encounter dire consequences.

In sum, even though young people may be effected by wrongdoings appeard on TV, the insutrument is trustful ssource in terms of science, society and recreatiion values. I believe it is better for children watch TV under the watch of their parents or guardians.