Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

The popularity of virtual money such as credit and debit cards is rising continuously crossing paper currency in race. In this essay I intend to discuss the primary merits of this followed by major drawback.

There are countless merits of using plastic money. The most preponderant one is government can keep a track on usage of money to regulate the economy of nation. As purchasing products by using cards send the transaction details to state authorities through which the income status of person can be known keeping the income tax defaulters’ ratio low. Another pivotal aspect of this proposition is that it can save time of users and provide numerous benefits for online trades. A press release by SBI, India’s largest public sector bank, states that debit cards help banking officials to curb the movement of money outside India through illegal means.

There are, however, the misuse of cards is the major key con of this. In addition to this, many elderly people are unaware of the fact that cards operate through simple password and PIN which can be stolen from their hi-tech devices by hackers resulting in loss of hard earned life time savings. To evident my point of view a report published by RBI, a banking regulatory organisation in India, states that 29% Indian users got duped by hackers out of which 96% people were of aged 60 or above.

In view of arguments outlined above one can conclude that the officials authorities can trace down the flow of money assisting them to halt the collection of black money, however, it is extremely easy to cheat people and loot their savings.