In many countries people are concerned about the number of children who are overweight. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Obesity has become one of the main public health problems worldwide. Childhood obesity rate is growing very fast in both developed and developing countries. In U.A.E, children in the overweight category have increased for both male and female is on the rise, over the international standard. This essay will discuss the reasons for the rise in body weight and propose possible solutions with examples.

One of the biggest problems for millennial's is sedentary lifestyle. Kids today lack physical activities and eat unhealthy food a major cause for inactive living. Furthermore, kids spend hours on computers or phones daily. For instance, a child’s diet today comprises of fast food and high sugar drinks. In addition, they are consumed with internet distractions on devices, current average on time spent by kids stands at 3 hours daily. Therefore, children’s poor diet and lack of time is rendering societies with overweight kids.

Healthy habits start at home. The best way to fight or prevent childhood obesity and weight problems is to get the whole family on a healthier track. Making better food choices and becoming more active will benefit everyone, regardless of weight. For instance, a parent could lead by example. If a child sees their parent eating vegetables, being active (playing a sport) and maintain a discipline on device time, the chances a child could mimic and adopt is higher. Thus, parents should take the initiative and bring a positive change.

In conclusion, the concern of parents worldwide about overweight children is real and is alarming. This is mainly due to poor lifestyle choices, but a parent is a powerful influence and can effectively combat the problem by adopting a healthy habits.