Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only for their own heath but also benefits the world as a whole. Discuss this view and give your opinion.

Millennial's are central drivers of this worldwide shift away from consuming animal products. But the plant-based movement is bigger than any one generation. Vegetarians tend to avoid consuming meat and fish for the purpose of keeping body health and for social responsibility towards the growing environmental concerns. I believe, that the benefits of this new consumer trend increases health food order and plant based eating may reduce the impact on global environmental issues. This will be discussed further in the essay with relevant examples.

Plant-based eating may not be entirely mainstream yet. But, it’s becoming more accepted every day. The shift in people's eating habits is mainly due to health benefits. Scientific research shows that health benefits increase as the amount of food from animal sources in the diet decreases, so vegan diets are the healthiest overall. For example, vegetarian diet is naturally low in saturated fat, high in fiber, and replete with cancer-protective phytochemicals—help to prevent cancer. Furthermore, people chose for weight loss and keeping up with body-shape. Moreover, choosing to consume vegetables rather than meat or fish becomes a trend to keep the body healthy, a trend popularized by high profile celebrities.

In addition, the idea that being vegetarian is better for the environment has, over the last forty years, become a piece of conventional wisdom. Consequently, recent guidelines by World Health Organisation suggests that plant-based diets would reduce the carbon footprints. For instance, the amount of grain and land used to produce a pound of beef, as well as the volume of methane the animals produce, the nation’s intake of beef has significant environmental ramifications, particularly in terms of greenhouse gas emissions. Thus, a larger group of people are choosing to be vegetarians and committing efforts to save the planet.

In conclusion, people choose to eat no meat or fish for both health and environmental reasons. In my opinion, both factors are significant and hence being a vegetarian is a smarter lifestyle choice. With such benefits, WHO should press governments to take initiatives to create awareness globally.