Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why are the causes and what can be done to reduce it?

Today, the level of garbage generated by many countries is on the rise. United states alone generate over 200 million tons of waste annually and without action the percentages will only surge. I believe, rapid urbanization is the leading cause for the increasing levels of rubbish and this essay will analyze the issue and provide possible solutions.

One unstoppable phenomenon evidenced in this century is the alarming rate of urbanization. The byproduct of urban living is the production of unpleasant solid wastes. For instance, in a lower middle-income country such as India, urbanization directly contributes to waste generation due to its inability to manage waste leading to environmental degradation. Further, rising population and lack of mindfulness to reduce waste in developing society is also a concern.

Reusing and recycling is an effective waste management strategy. Little contribution on an individual level to recycling or reusing can have a great impact. A small shift to cooking and carrying home cooked meals in steel containers for example can reduce single use plastic waste significantly. Therefore, a quick adoption and making changes is pivotal to the problem of waste in most parts of the globe.

In conclusion, urbanization is a reality and the concentration of people is inevitable and hence the rise of rubbish needs to be curtailed. In developing economies, governments must mandate and create awareness on recycling and reusing to mitigate the implications of wastes generation for cleaner environment. Segregation of wastes must be a global policy for every country and the citizen of the world to obey.