Over the last few years there has been a dramatic increase in the amount of garbage produced by each household. All of this eventually ends up in the landfill. This essay will discuss the two main causes of this issue and will outline several possible solutions to thwart this problem.

Firstly, one of main reason for this issue is the lack of recycling facilities in many nations. Today, governments around the the globe are more concerned about their defence and other external matters, they do not pay a lot of attention to this kind of issues which pollute the environment. Thus, they have no other way but to dumb garbage in landfills. For example, a recent survey found out that, around 70% of waste around the world are not recycled instead they are dumbed in landfills. Another reason for this issue is the lack of awareness among people. Nowadays in many countries, individuals are producing huge amounts of waste without realising the destructive effects these garbage have on our nature. Most of these people do not care about these

issues, so the amount of garbage rises.

Secondly, looking at the possible solutions, one of the best remedy would be to introduce more recycling facilities in countries. In other words, the amount of waste going to the landfills will decrease if recycling or waste processing centres are used. For instance, Japan recycles around 80% of their wastes, as a result they have a clean nature. Another possible solution would be to introduce biodegradable green bags. These bags are highly effective because, in matter of days the soil will degrade these bags, and studies have shown that it has no other side effects to the nature.

To conclude, unless we make a conscious effort, it will not be possible to reduce the amount of waste we produce.