In many countries, people like to eat a wide variety of food that are grown in other areas.
As a result, they eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do you think the
advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?
Over the past decades, daily diet has become more diversified than before with a wider range of
food imported from other regions. Many people nowadays prefer food transported from other areas
to locally produced food. While this tendency is gaining currency and has several benefits, I am the
opinion that its drawbacks are more considerable for the following reasons.
On the one hand, it is noteworthy that there are some advantages of consuming imported food. Firstly, this trend can
increase the varieties of food, thereby guaranteeing the sufficient intake of nutrition. For instance,
those who live in cold areas where extreme weather poses various difficulties to farming activities can
consume fruits that are grown in tropical area, striking a balance between the consumption of meat and
fiber. Secondly, this development could encourage bilateral trading activities between different
regions. For example, a country or region can focus on the manufacturing industrial products and
exchange them with others, which is consistent with the global trend of specialization.
On the other hand, notwithstanding the above mentioned benefits, I would argue that it will be a
grievous mistake to disregard its pitfalls. One of its potential harms is that to prolong fruit longevity,
especially that of perishable agricultural products, preservatives are commonly used in food processing,
which poses a risk to consumer’s health, as these additives may contain some detrimental
substances. In addition, another problem that should be taken into account is that excessive
consumption of exotic fruits and ignoring the possibility of developing industrialized farming may disable
a country from achieving food security or self-sufficiency. A telling example is Norway, statistics have
shown that increasing preference to imported food has made this country heavily dependent on food
supply from neighboring countries.
In conclusion, although there are some undeniable advantages of eating imported food, it is
a grave mistake to overlook intangible problems as discussed above.