There has been a fact that nowadays a major proportion of food that people consume is derived from other areas, rather than that produced where they live because people tend to favour a variety of food. From my perspective, I suppose that the drawbacks of this tendency surpass the merits.

On the one hand, it is admitted that eating various food from outer places has its advantages. Firstly, given the fact that a wide range of food, from vegetables, fruits to meat and beef, for instance, is not always preferable to be grown in particular areas, so the demand for importing such food from outside is unavoidable. Therefore, consumers seem to be among the first beneficiaries of this trend since they certainly gain access to numerous types of food that they can not seek in their local. Secondly, consuming food originated from distant places may promote merchandising between areas or between countries, which eventually raises the gross of the food providers. Moreover, that could also create more jobs that relate to food processing and cargo transporting, partly boost the development of the economy.

On the other hand, the underlying disadvantages of this trend are also profound that I believe that the advantages can not outweigh. Gaining access to a wider limitation of food choice, consumers have to deal with higher costs as food from other regions also additionally bear, at least, the expense for transporting. On top of that, local farmers appear to suffer the worst damage as they fail to seek futures for their farm products. In consequence, those whose products neglected can not make a profit and thus contribute fewer taxes for their local authority. Finally, increased food miles mean that more greenhouse gas, deemed as the main reason for air pollution and global warming, emitted and therefore, has destructive effects on our long-term life quality.

In conclusion, while there are several benefits of inclining to eat food produced from other regions instead of their area, I would maintain that the resulting disadvantages are rather profound and eclipse its advantages.