In many countries, people like to eat a wider variety of food from other regions more than local food. As a result, much of the food has to come from other regions. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

It is true that people usually are prone to choose to eat foreign food instead of local food. While I understand that there are several disadvantages of this trend, I strongly believe that the benefits far outweigh the drawbacks.

One of the many drawbacks is that eating imported food might have a negative impact on the environment. This trend will raise the demand for transportation, such as flights and sea transportation because foreign food relies on these transportations to export food. Frequency transportation will increase the amount of greenhouse gas, which leads to exacerbate global warming and raise sea levels. As a result, some coastal places or countries with low altitude might disappear and the citizens in these places might be homeless.

On the other hand, there are some benefits to the consumption of imported food. One of the many advantages is that this trend improves the trades between different regions. Countries will plant better quality of agricultural products in order to boost the number of these products that other regions purchase. For example, Japanese farmers develop new varieties of apples every year, so the Japanese government can increase the revenue from these apples exported. As a result, it will raise the income of a whole nation. Another key benefit is, greater job opportunities can be anticipated. With the booming development of imported food, the quantity of transportation will soar as well. In order to meet these needs of transportation, delivery businesses need to expand the number of employees.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the possible merits of this trend, in terms of improvements of trades between different regions and greater job opportunities, prevail over the downsides, such as a negative impact on the environment. Therefore, I recommend that the government should encourage more people to choose imported food.