In many countries, people now wear western-style dress such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing.

Why is this?

Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is effortless to descry the pervasiveness of western-style clothes and plummeting preference over traditional counterpart. From my own perspectives, this is the direct consequence of massive globalization and advanced technology in fashion industry, and overall adverse development.

To start with, it is sufficiently apparent that globalization immensely facilitates worldwide propagating of western culture as American or European. Via proverbial prestigious fashion magazine, online platform or establishing branches, giant fashion co-operations have exposed their initially targeted consumers with numerous trendy and glorious clothing items. This, consequently, gradually modifies citizens’ shopping proclivity towards more Westernized style. Moreover, amid globalization, people living in distinct nations watch blockbuster Hollywood movie, listen to famous singers, and therefore emulate and purchase appurtenances pertinent to their lifestyle. This explain why brands choose household names to be their ambassador to upsurge sale figures. Additionally, automated technology allows colossal fabricating identical products follows significant decline in price and time. Decades ago, denizens had no other alternatives but ordering local tailor, whose procedures might take a few days. Drawing a parallel to current days, Zara or Louis Vuitton can offer, ship rigorously made and uniformed off-the-peg to their costumers at affordable price in a tiny matter of time. This privilege has considerably help foreign stores outweigh their domestic rivals.

Notwithstanding acknowledged advantages of western clothes, comfortableness, flexibility to name a few, those aforementioned merits can not counterbalance the loss of cultural diversity. To illustrate, in a plethora of parts of Vietnam, iconography in skillfully craft can emanate about the tradition of one particular ethnic passed down for generations. Furthermore, these beautifully clothing is not only one-of-a-kind artist product but also environmentally friendly.

In conclusion, Westernized vogue, which is result of globalization and technology development, has jeopardized the prospect of traditional clothes. I believe people should join hand by using and marketing them to save our precious heritage.