Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent times, a large portion of newly developed medicines have been experimented on animals to identify both the efficacy and side effects. It is argued by many that these experiments should be held in retention due to their benefits to human being meanwhile, others advocate prohibition them as they are morally unacceptable. From my own perspective, I completely agree with the latter notion given the advent of synthetic laboratory tests.

On the one hand, it is agonizingly irrefutable that vivisection is beneficial to humanity as it provides crucial information about safety without adverse impact on human’s well-being. It is sufficiently apparent that via trial phase, products developer will be well-informed about body reaction particular drug prior to its release, therefore, chemist would be able to give precaution and make necessary alterations to minimize the unwarranted effect. For instances, medicine must undergo a variety of test phases in either small to massive scale to examine likely side effects.

On the other hand, conducting experiments on animals is inhumane and therefore should be eradicated. Needless to say, those things are against their right and inevitably have negative impact on their health. The outcomes can range from slight faint to even fatality, and thus is immoral to make a living body suffer from excruciating pain. It is estimated that 192 million, or thereabouts animals were used for scientific purpose globally in 2015 and millions of them had been killed. Furthermore, with the advance of technology, scientists are now capable of testing the effectiveness of medicines via computer simulation. For example, the cosmetic industry have substituted conventional testing methods for synthetic counterparts with the leading companies can be named: the body shop or cocoon. Therefore, it stands to reason that people should do away with animal testing.

In conclusion, notwithstanding acknowledged benefits of animal testing to humanity, I believe that we should enact regulations that ban atrocious activities towards other creature. Besides, scientists should also further apply artificial alternatives and costumers can join hand via supporting products with PETA’s animal test-free certification.