Some people prefer to relax by doing physical activities, while others choose mental activities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there is a wide array of recreational alternatives for human being which can be divided into two different categories: physical and mental activities. A number of people express their preference over the former option, while others choose participating in the latter one during relaxation time. However, either former or latter is efficacious in alleviating stress, from my own perspective, I prefer taking part in doing workout as they are beneficial to health as well.

On the one hand, advocates of mental activities argue that such games as chess or Sudoku constitute effectual methods to revitalize the brain and therefore the mood. Apparently, since cognitive-related activities expose the brain to extreme challenging, individuals will need to hit the refresh button and reorganize their thoughts. Whereby, their mind is liberated from tangible thinking pattern after a day occupied with avalanche of tasks. For example, in Poland, people usually play chess or board games to blow off some steam. However, many are concerned about the health impact of this as it dissuades people from moving and exercising.

On the other hand, those who are in favor of physical movement corroborate their notion with scientifically validated fact pertaining to the link between exercising and tension reduction. Decades of research has indicated that cortisol or stress hormone, as its name suggests, is one of the main driving forces of tension. Interestingly, by taking up moderate exercise frequently, the amount of cortisol has significantly decreased. Nonetheless, doing sports is irrefutably exceedingly energy-consuming, hence it is inappropriate relaxation for blue collars whose jobs already encompasses labor-exhausted tasks.

In conclusion, notwithstanding acknowledged advantages of mental activities, I believe physical counterpart is superior choice given the bonus benefit for overall well-being.