Some people think that individuals today are more dependent on each other. Others believe people have become more independent.

In our modern society, as time elapses, a number of people argue that individuals are becoming more reliant on others meanwhile, another agglomerations advocate the notion that human being is much more independent than they used to. Personally speaking, my own perspective coincides with the latter opinion.

People who believe that humankind are more dependent vindicate their points based on tremendously worldwide cultural shift. Currently, a large proportion of population no longer consider independence to be the precedence in their life. On the contrary, substituting for solitary contend with hardships or maintaining the equanimity regardless of mental breakdown, people are frequently requiring helps, allowing the rest of the world to see their vulnerability. In the past, masculines would exclude socially emotional express. Now, men is under no obligation to cry, ask for help and to not be invincible. Moreover, the percentage of mental-ill people are exceedingly upsurging increasingly corroborate a dependent society and the importance of compassionate network for a long-term mental health.

Nevertheless, the world is undoubtfully witnessing the era of unprecedented independence due to advanced technology. Obviously enough, state-of-the-art technology is in charge of numerous tasks that once carried out by human being. Whereby, humankind can effortlessly lead a self-reliant lifestyle. Users can sign up for educational courses online, order food by delivery, and access mass amounts of information at their disposals. In addition, we possess a greater autonomy when drawn a parallel with the past. We can freely take up our careers, take a vacation and especially choose our partner, which had been decided solely by parents since time immemorial. Furthermore, feminism and gender equality have given female the golden opportunities to live an autonomous life.

In conclusion, despite people’s accretionary dependency, more are potentially leading an independent life thanks to the advance of technology and dramatic shift in social notion. This change has its positives and negatives but its reality is undeniable.