In many countries, plastic containers have become more popular than ever. They are used in many businesses, for example, food and drink industries. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, the use of plastic containers in the food and beverage sections is on the rise in many nations around the world. Along with this matter is the heated debate about its merits and demerits. From my perspective, although there still exist some noteworthy advantages, the drawbacks of using plastics box are much greater than its benefits.

On the one hand, it is obvious that plastic bags’ demerits is fully informed over the planet, from the virtual world to the real one. The first disadvantage that should be mentioned is the degradation of our environment when plastic containers are used in the long run. It takes one plastic piece up to 1000 years to be completely broken down. Because its millennial decomposition progress, not only marine creatures but also terrestrial animals are more likely to be in danger since plastic is all over their habitats. It is even more clear when our planet has witnessed the extinction of some kinds of fish because of plastic waste into the ocean. The second point that should be taken into consideration is that plastic can pose a great threat to our health. As a variety of research have been carried out in order to grasp more thorough knowledge about this matter, it is proved that the long-term use of containers made of plastic can make a contribution to cancer and other health hazards.

On the other hand, some advantages do exist but can not be able to surpass the above drawbacks. It is undeniable that the prominence of plastic containers is attributed to its flexibility and versatility, especially in the beverage industry, where take-away food and drinks are in favor of the mass population. Especially, the use of plastic bags is vital when it comes to shipping since hot or cold beverages can be kept for a long time and can be taken through a long distance without losing its initial taste. Not only for that reason but plastic bag is also known to be more cost-effective than others containers, paper bags or bamboo containers for instance.

In conclusion, although plastic containers do bring humans some benefits, I strongly believe that its negative effects outweigh its benefits.