In many countries the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Some think this is good. While other believe this is a problem for s country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Due to advancement of technology and medicine, more and more people tend to have a longer life than before and several countries have to face adversity of having ageing societies. Despite some minor drawbacks, I think that living longer is a positive trend.

There are three advantages when people live longer. Firstly, old people have more experience and can contribute their witness by counselling young generation. In some careers such as teachers, experienced teachers can better guide their children than the young ones. Secondly, because of their precious knowledge in cultures, traditions and history, the elderly are inevitably practical in telling stories which happened in the past. Moreover, since young people are always busy and unable to appropriately look after their kids, so old people are the best companion with those kids and can help them grow up in good environment rather than in a child care center.

However, there are some drawbacks of having the old, first of all, young people and governments are liable in taking care of the old generations. when people reach an age that they are unable to support their own living, the government have to take care of them by providing financial assistance. Thus, it means that more tax must be collected in order to support old people. Apart from that, the nation will lack human resources which are vital to develop countries. Seniors are more prone to have health problems and cannot do much tasks that require physical power.

In conclusion, health and financial problems of the old are somewhat concerned, seniors can still help and be beneficial in specific tasks driving their countries forward.