A positive and friendly educational environment is essential for students in the pursuit of their studies. However, many schools are facing a dilemma over the negative attitude of students in their classrooms. There are a number of reasons behind this problem and several solutions to tackle accordingly.

This phenomenon can be clarified by two primary reasons. Firstly, the emotional intelligence and cognitive abilities of students, particularly adolescents in middle and high schools, have not developed thoroughly. This can be explained for rebellious actions such as showing disobedient or disrespectful attitudes towards their teachers and peers. Thus, newly qualified teachers lacking of experiences may find it hideously challenging to deal with a variety of situations created by their students’ behaviour. Secondly, families may not pay proper attention to the social and emotional development of their children. Without firm guidance from parents, teenagers are likely to form negative manners from friends who are bad influences such as rudeness, being too proud or self-consciousness.

Since such issues are serious, there must be a coordination between schools and families in order to diminish this problem. On the one hand, parents should be powerful role models of their children because kids do tend to grow up to be a lot like their mothers and fathers. Parents with good personalities such as self-esteem, respectfulness or responsibility may positively influence their children, hence, make them become good students. On the other hand, beside academic knowledge, educational programs in schools should consistently emphasize the crucial role of social skills throughout lessons and counselling activities. Moreover, teachers must also be well-trained to make sure they are able to deal well with diversity and conflict in the classroom.

In conclusion, widespread negative behaviour in many educational institutions has inevitably become a serious problem and it can be explained by numerous reasons. Both families and schools are obligated to tackle this issue through proper attention and educational programs.