In many countries schools have severe problems with student behavior. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

They stood at the school entrance every morning checking girls` bags. Any material counted as cosmetic was banned and delivered to the school head with its holder`s name for disciplinary purposes. According to my school, wearing make-up was problematic and needed firmly punitive action. Although the type of trouble with student behavior varies with culture, perhaps all matters arise solely from one basic reason whereas solutions appear to be colorful.

A lack of understanding in students` needs can be the keystone of struggles. Educational system should realize every age group has unique demands and their manners are a corresponding attempt to meet them. For example, having cell phone or bullying may be a sign of strong desire for acceptance or attention from peers. It is a sad fact that rarely will schools notice root causes, preferring instead to impose punishment. Thus, students might fear to express themselves freely but learn how to smartly violate the law or deceive others. Another cause targets law. Schools often adjust to their own old policies which make them a lagged place from children`s viewpoint.

The most effective remedy would be training school staff. They should be educated how to become conscious of students` wants and find good flexible ways to deal with problems. For instance, they can plan diverse courses and activities with lots of children participation based on the problems which are predicted to increase, like drug abuse; students will gain an impressive experience if they see detoxification centers or talk to addicts themselves. Replacing wide variety of banning regulations with a law forcing students to do social works will definitely lead to less behavioral rebellion. Under indirect guidance, adolescences can become in control easily.

To conclude, issues are assumed to grow in the absence of realization. Nowadays, schools should be highly adaptable to numerous current changes and put their determined effort on rising awareness, however lengthy, rather than strict pressure.