in many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family group. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is clear that the city citizens have a tendency to live in one-person households or build up a nuclear family with two generations. From my perspective, the drawbacks of this trend completely outweigh the benefits.

The decreasing of family size has an adverse effect on both parents and children. In two-generation families or single-parent households, family spending is a stressful part. Without the support from grandparents or relatives, the modern parent takes almost the responsibilities of family spending on their shoulders. They must maintain the average standard of living for their child and other family-related stuff. In the long-term, this pressure will cause physical and psychological problems in middle age. Moreover, the lack of caring and influencing the older people who have valuable life experiences potentially make children miss out on important life lessons or the traditional customs. As a result, they will grow up without any historical knowledge or the beauty of traditional culture. In a long-term effect, the mordent society has seen the deterioration in traditional awareness.

Living alone or in a small family unit is leads to a reduction in human interaction and psychology problems. The minimize of a family member means individuals have nobody to talk to in person, so they cannot share their problems or the struggles in daily life. It leads to depression in the future. Furthermore, the lack of interaction at home is replayed by passive distractions, such as mobile phones, television, video games, and social media. This type of existence is associated with loneliness and solitude in life, all known to decrease human interaction.

To sum up, the nuclear families of the one-person household is a harmful development. We should be aware when choosing our family to consider both negative and positive affect its can bring.