In many countries, traditional foods are being replaced by international fast foods.

This is having a negative effect on both families and societies. To what extent do you

agree or disagree with this opinion?

In many parts of the world, families and societies are taking in much more international fast foods than traditional ones. I believe this growing tendency is exerting erosive effects on not only families but also societies.

Firstly, it is noteworthy that the increasing popularity of fast foods has destructive impacts on the solidarity of family. Sociological studies have shown that although it is invisible, traditional foods in daily meals play an instrument in the enhancement of family ties. Therefore, it will be a mistake to overlook the fact thatthe convenience of international fast foods is at the expense of bonding time that people have with their family members to enhance family relations. For example, the ever-accelerated living tempo and fierce competition make people have insufficient time for their family, especially in double income families where both parents are working as bread- winners, preparing for a delicious meal and eating together are ideal activities for family members to share experiences, joys and sorrows. This example is the illustration of the fact that the consumption of fast foods for its convenience deprives people of the opportunity to tighten family unity.

Secondly, the counter-argument raised by objectors to this is that the pervasiveness of international fast foods is a positive indicator of globalization and social, economic development. Because in modern society with ever-increasing pace of life, the consumption of fast foods that are prepared and readily available is time-efficient, especially to those who are time-minded with busy working schedule and. This justification is reasonable to some extent. However, it is incomplete; what they fail to take into account is that fact thatfrom cultural perspective, it will cast a shadow on the inheritance of long-established customs. For instance, in most cultures, traditional foods are integral parts of age-old customs, religious events, sacred rituals, cultural ceremonies as the presence of traditional foods represents solemnity, eternity. Hence, one can observe that the progressive vanishment of traditional foods in daily lives is having adverse impacts on the preservation of local cuisines, national identities.

In conclusion, people should consider the fact that the increasing prevalence of fast foods has chronic effects on family unity and cultural conservation as mentioned above.