Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that tourism is a huge industry and tourism expansion is playing a key role in many developing countries in the world. There are a number of reasons why this is the case, and in my opinion the development of international tourist markets has both positive and negative effects.

There are various reasons why many places are expanding and growing tourism industries. One reason for this view is that the development of tourism has a significant impact on economic growth in many countries. This is because it generates income through the consumption of goods and services by tourists. For example, the expenditure of foreigners often includes local foods, accommodation and transportation. Therefore, the business can earn enormous profits from tourists and the government can increase their budget from taxation. Another reason is that tourism industry creates employment for local people, so this will increase the standard of living of people and unemployment rate also will decrease at the same time.

On the other hand, I think that expanding tourist industries can be extremely drawbacks in the countries. Firstly, tourists cause environmental problems like erosion and pollution. For this reason, tourists visit a huge number of places by cars, planes and boats. This contributes to increase the emission of carbon dioxide into atmosphere, so it is the cause of air pollution. Secondly, some tourists are lack of respect for local traditions and cultural heritage. For example, some foreigners act badly and damage ancient building, temples and monument.

In conclusion, although many developing countries believe that tourism industry expansion is a key factor in national economic growth and a source of income and employment, however I think that tourism can also a cause of problem in the countries.