Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

In recent years, tourism has been expanding in those developing nations to attract a great deal of visitors. There are various reasons behind this trend and it may cause to harmful environment in the long term.

To begin with, it cannot be denied that tourism industry may contribute to the nations’ economy and those nations normally prioritise expenditure on tourism. First of all, visitors from developed nations often prefer travelling to third countries which are suitable with their budget. Moreover, stunning landscapes are normally promoted on advertisements in these nations which attract people around the world and they are likely to spend more compared with local tourists. Instead of visiting metropolitan cities, individuals tend to visit natural attractions to get their mind at ease after a long-haul working period of time. For example, American travellers tend to visit ASEAN nations to save money or experience different cultures.

There are also, however, some negative effects on the environment that people should take into account. The first drawback of this trend would be result in environmental degradation in local areas, such as pollution and destruction of natural landscapes. The root cause of these issues is the tourists from their ignorance of everything related to green space. This might lead to gradually destroy the environmental resources on which tourism itself depends. An example for this case is most tourists generally drink bottled water which creates mountains of plastic every year. If those developing countries do not have appropriate recycling facilities or do not know how to deal with these waste, and therefore, they commonly end up littered plastic throughout the rivers, seas, beaches, and oceans.

To conclude, tourism can be the financial hubs in developing countries, however, it may put the nature in local areas at risk.