many elderly people are no longer cared for by their families and are put in care homes or nursing homes. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Putting old people in care homes and nursing homes is a practice that is gaining popularity in recent times. this essay will explain the positivity of this, among which is to eradicate loneliness amongst the elderly, while also talking about its disadvantages.

On one hand, the care and nursing homes avail its occupants the services of trained caregivers. These caregivers have been trained to understand the peculiarity of each elder and treat them accordingly. Also, loneliness and depression are one of the leading causes of the death of the aged ones. The nursing and care homes offer the elderly an opportunity to relate with their peers. The relive old times, share meals, play games among other activities, these things help to keep them rejuvenated. A documentary I once watched showed the occupants of a care home being tasked with the job of tending a garden. They were to make a weekly note on the progress of the garden. This was meant to keep them engaged and give them ownership over something.

On the other hand, when the aged are kept in nursing homes, the tendency for their families to forget them is higher. Their families believe they are in good hands, reduce their visiting times, and eventually stop visiting. As much as there are people to keep them company, seeing their beloves families would bring them a joy that is second to none. Considering that these elders are within the confines of a home, they are more likely to forge the things that are outside the home. Shopping in a physical shop, visiting friends and families, driving a car are examples of the things they might not be able to do while in a care and nursing home. For instance, an aged woman, who lived down my street, was taken to a nursing home as her family believed she was too old to live all by herself. She constantly complained to her caregivers how much she misses visiting people. She explained that visiting helped to refresh her memory. In her sixth month in the home, she developed Alzheimer and overtime she couldn't recognize her children.

In conclusion, the growing trend of keeping the elderly in nursing snd care homes has its advantages which include having capable hands take care of them and a disadvantage of their families neglecting them in these homes.