some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family. What are the advantage and disadvantage of family run business.

The goal and objective of owning a business can be met in various ways. Some people school of thought believe that involving members in a business settings is the most credible way of running such business. This essay will discuss the cons and pros of having a family centred business.

There are quite a number of benefits associated with having a business that is managed by family members. Firstly, having a business settings that involve members of the family gives each and everyone of them a sense of belonging and responsibilities in the quest to achieve a common family goal. When each member feels their contribution to the business matters, they will strive to make a positive impact to the growth of that establishment, such member will be overwhelmed to put in more effort, and by so doing, the family will be more united and individual self-esteem will be boosted. Secondly, when families are part of a business, every will have an insight to what the family financial status is, thus, every individual or collective budget and expenses proposed will be considered according to the financial strength of the business.

Meanwhile, there are also disadvantages of allowing families to participate in a business. In a case where some members have no prior experience or willingness to be part of the business can easily pull down the success of the organisation. For example, my friend who graduated after studying food and nutrition at the university was forced to join in managing the family company that deals with interior and exterior designing, said she have little or nothing to offer for the development of the company and has no sincere intent on learning how to do so. Such laxity can contribute to business failure. More so, when a family member has a desire to pursue a set career, but has to engage in the household business just to keep to the norms of the family, it makes him feel unfulfilled and less useful.

In conclusion, involving relatives in a business could be necessary as if gives every member an opportunity to contribute for the betterment of the business, and makes them feel belonged. But it also deprived some members the chance to achieve their personal dream, and can also lead to failure in business.