Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Post-retirement lives involve a wide range of decision for elderly. It has been increasingly common that retired employees prefer accommodating skilled nursing facilities. This essay will explain the pros and cons of the trend.

Regarding the negatives, abandonment is usually the case when an old person is left in nursing home. Many young people often deal with depressed workload, hence lacks of free time visiting their parents. In some case, children only pay their parents a visit even once a few years. Secondly, expenditure on consistent healthcare is frequently too expensive for elders with conventional retirement pension. As a result, it will rather be an economic burden to the family than a monthly pay for enjoyment.

On the other hand, such facility has beneficial outcomes to elders’ health. Regarding physical health, there are professional healthcare treatments, which are always available. Trained nurses are able to handle most emergency medical care, and they also have wider knowledge about elder diseases, namely hypertension or diabetes. Furthermore, it is the nursing home that is the ideal place for old parents to join community of elders. Having abundant spare time, these people would enjoy resting years with ones of the same age.

In conclusion, while there are some disadvantages involving participation cost and familial care shortage which can simply solved by institutional subsidize, nursing facilities have obvious beneficial sides that make it a sure selection to spend one’s retirement pension in. The place is worth-trying, as long as there is no abandonment toward and the elderly are carefully looked after.