Many first-year university students discover after they have started their course that their chosen subjects do not suit them. Why does this happen? What can be done to ensure that students can choose a suitable subject?

After having enrolled at the university and attending lecturing session of courses and subjects, many first-year students fail to align with their chosen major. This essay will outline the reasons behind the problem as well as the way to resolve it.

First of all, one of notable reasons is that an imbalance of learner’s expectations of career goals may contrast with reality of university life. Frontiers Media presents that first-year scholars have the highest percentage of university dropout, thus, founding themselves unprepared with more independent study and inconsistent workload compared to high school. Furthermore, parental pressure is heavily affected ones’ decision on choosing a great fit major — lacking their intrinsic motivation. Regarding that, mostly Chinese high-school students follow their caregivers’ choices in which they play a prominent role, believing that they know what best for children future

Regarding the aforementioned factors, a remarkable solution can be implemented through parental support and guidance in upbringing their children whose interests engage in better learning experience. Considering career path, such freedom can effectively assist youngsters to develop self-worth and abilities, allowing them to be confident and responsible on what they have decided. Moreover, government education policy should promote MBTI, personality test, reducing the mismatched subjects. Reported by SpringerOpen Journal, providing occupational information of self-knowledge can boost their self-awareness to identify together with articulating their talented skills and abilities aiming for future goals.

To sum up, several reasonable factors lie behind an issue of mismatched major that early-year university students has attained including the reliance on public’s perception of university life and strict parental control. However, this can be tackled by appropriate parent’s upbringing and educational program of self-personality assessment.