Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that the government should make efforts to help the condition of its people by bettering different aspects of the country. However, while some people believe that all areas are equally important, I would argue that having a strong economy should be a priority.

One of the arguments that people who believe progressing in all areas should have the same priority is that they realize that money by itself can not bring happiness for people. For instance, we all probably have heard or seen news about a celebrity who despite having fame and fortune suffers from clinical depression or some other mental disorder problem. so the argument goes, all of the human needs are equally important, not just the ones that can be accommodated by money.

However, while only focusing on methods for gaining more money is guaranteed to lead us to our doom, having a solid financial state should be a priory. This is because most of the human's basic needs can only be accommodated by money. Therefore, the government's primary goal should be to help people to have comfortable living conditions because otherwise, people might not survive to care about their other needs. For instance, in some countries, people can not even afford to buy food and sometimes starve to death. so we should first focus on meeting people's basic needs like food, shelter, and medicine.

To sum up, while money can not solve every problem that people have, but it is the remedy for their basic daily needs. so the government should take action to develop all areas of the country, with special attention to the economy because people's survival is dependent on it.