People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effects does it have on an individual and on society?

Nowadays, people from many countries tend to get less sleep than they used to, because of the changes in their lifestyle. this essay will discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon and the implications that it will have for people’s personal and social life.

The changes that modern life have made to the way people live caused this shortened sleep duration. people do different activities before going to sleep, which has lowered the quantity and quality of their sleep. For instance, employees bring their work home, or people watch television programs instead of sleeping. furthermore, because of the hustle and bustle of their life, they are stressed out throughout the day, depriving them of sleep due to excessive thinking about their problems.

Additionally, sleep deprivation poses severe problems for people and the ones around them. it affects their performance of their daily activities. For example, research shows students who get less than six hours of sleep, perform poorly in their tests in comparison with the students who get enough sleep. furthermore, sleeping less than the recommended amount could have destructive effects on one’s behavior. this is because people who do not get enough sleep, usually experience mood swings, which might cause confusion for people around them and destroy their relationship.

In conclusion, the problems which modern life has brought for people have been altering the sleep patterns of them. Consequently, they have been experiencing a decline in their performance and changes the way they behave, which could have complication for their relationship with their friends and family.