Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience

It is undeniable that economic progress is paramount to every nation. While many authorities see it as a topmost priority, other people believe beyond economic progress, advancement in other aspect is equally important. This essay will address both sides of the argument, and provide explanation why I believe growth cutting across every other area is also very essential.

On the one hand, the economy of a country drives other aspects of development like industry , health etc. Officials who see economic progress as number one in their priority do so because when the economy flourishes, it indirectly reflect in every other quota. Although this requires conscious effort from those in power to make it work. For example, most of the developed countries of the world spend time building it's economy, bringing about obvious development in other sector.

On the other hand, other type of progress is important for a balanced economy. Proponent of this view believe if the government focus only it's economy, there is a tendency to pay less attention on other areas that matter on the welfare of it's masses. For example, poorly developed countries lag behind because despite obvious economic advancement, other areas haven't experienced such positive tide. In my opinion, every nation should grow in other dimensions as much as it's economy make progress as most countries are driven backward if they focus only on their economy and even suffer terrible feat.

In summary, although many government focus in bringing economic progress , other people believe experiencing growth in other areas as well is equally important. I support this latter view, as a balanced economy requires all round development.