Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

While governments are concentrating on the country’s economic development because they see that’s is the most important one, the citizens have contrasting views which are other forms of aspects that need improving simultaneously. From my point of view, I totally concur with the economy is an essential factor, but other forms of progress are needed to be considered carefully.

To start with three key reasons why economic growth has currently become the fundamental metric for national progress by governments around the world. First of all, the development of the economy generates more tax revenue for the government. From that cash flow, the government can be able to invest in other fields of society such as healthcare, education, the environment, or what else that they see as lacking or necessary. Secondly, job opportunities are in ratio with the economic growth that makes the unemployment rate decreased results in the citizen’s living standard will be better. Last but not least, a strong economy can help to boost the power in terms of international relations and reputation, which allows for more influence and trading power on the global stage.

Other forms of progress that exist independent from economic progress can be equally relevant in measuring a country’s success. For instance, the limited crime rate can manifest how well a country has governed its citizens and keep strengthening social security. Regardless of the wealth of a country, it will not have a satisfied and healthy population if the environment is in ruin. Alternatively, the overall happiness of its residents can be an extremely relevant measure of a country’s success.

In a nutshell, while it is obvious that economic health is a key marker of a country’s success, other educational, environmental, social security metrics are equally significant.