Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Everyone has different views about how governments should measure their countries’ progress. While economic progress is of course essential, I agree with those who believe that others are equally important.

There are several reasons why economic progress is seen as a crucial key for countries. First of all, economic development gives ample job creation for citizens. It is undeniable that the establishment of many factories makes a great contribution to various job vacancies. As a result, the less the unemployment rate becomes, the more benefits the countries can be got. Furthermore, the economy plays an important role in enhancing frustration as well as public service. For instance, one country with higher revenue will invest more in hospitals, schools, or road systems. Finally, the economy can help a country’s standing on the global stage, in terms of its political influence and trading power.

However, I would argue that other forms of progress are as important as economic factors. In particular, we should consider social justice, human rights, and democracy itself. A clear example is that the civilization of a country is reflected through its attitude toward minor groups. Another considerable key to judging the progress of a modern country should be how well that country protects and preserve its natural beauty. If a country has abundant natural resources, it will become a rich country. Last but not least, the progress of a country is measured by looking at the health, well-being, and happiness of its residents. Once residents feel satisfied with life quality, it means that country gets better because the spiritual values that everyone gets from their country reflect thoroughly on the life quality of that country.

In conclusion, economic development is obviously a necessary factor in the progress of a country, but the social environment, health criteria, or natural preservation are equally significant.