Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is the issue of whether or not economic promotion is the main aim of government. While there are persuasive arguments in favor of significance of economic growth, I would argue that authorities should pay attention to other issues.

On the one hand, some people believe that drawing politicians attention to economic issues has several advantages. From their point of view, unemployment crisis and poverty stem from the inappropriate economic condition. It is claimed that the incidence of joblessness will be decreased if government solve their economic problems. They can create a job by constructing factories and invest on key and primary industries and as a result of the economic boom, individuals are less likely to suffer from poverty and lack of a job. They also mentioned that economic expansion leads people to enjoy a higher standard of living, whereby the crime rate decline. There are several factors which are contributed in life satisfaction including education, high income, a decent job and so on. Besides research findings confirm that crime rate has a reverse relation with the standard of livings. Residents benefit from a higher standard of living due to economic growth. Besides, the social gap and discrimination have been inhibited.

On the other hand, I believe that it is better for the government to advert other human's to needs. To begin with, the spiritual and emotional needs of citizens should be considered. The state should provide citizens with a calm society which is homogenous. They should have been involved in social welfare such as respect to the human rights, personal freedom, social security and democracy. Furthermore, they should attention to the environment as a major concern of human life. Environmental problem, water contamination and air pollution, is regarded as a serious threat to the existence of creatures and it is of paramount importance to some action regarded so as to ameliorate these problems.

In conclusion, whereas economic recession can bring about several problems, it is important for the government to allocate fair attention to both social and economic issues.