Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is the issue of whether or not the government should devote more budget to railway rather than roads. Personally, I partially agree with this idea due to reason which will be discussed here.

On the on hand, some opponents believe that giving finance to develop roads have several advantages. From their point of view, a vast majority of people travel or commute using their private vehicles especially those who settle in the hinterland, putting a strain on roads. In this situation, traffic congestion is inevitable, whereby the people stuck in traffic or bottleneck for several hours.as we can see in some conurbation such as London and Tokyo.

They also mentioned that road accident nowadays are one of the most common reasons for individual death, so it is of paramount importance to invest funds in developing standard roads and improve those which existed to reduce bottlenecks and decline the incidence of accidents.

On the other hand, I believe that railway plays a key role in the transport system. To begin with, trains are high capacity modes of transport which have been employed in the transport of both human and loads. Therefore, they can be highly beneficial to decrease the pressure on other means of transport. Secondly, they have a reputation for their countless positive feature, convenient, fast and cheap for instance. This means they can provide passengers with a reliable means of transport which is not only are extremely safe but also have a reasonable price. So if authorities spend more money on the railway, residents will be more likely to willing to utilise the trains instead of their own cars.

In conclusion, whereas expense financial on roads infrastructure can be useful, I am of the opinion that railway progression is a decisive factor in inhibition of current transport system problems.