Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the modern world like today, developing economy is one of the major concerns of many governments. It is said that economic improvement should be achieved in every country. On the other hand, some people also express their opinions that other kinds of progress are particularly essential.

On the first hand, economy plays a vital part in industrializing and modernizing nations. Firstly, it will be much easier for developed countries to perform many useful things for citizens' lives. For example, the governments have capability of spending a lot of money on science technology, military, education and many more. Particularly, they can manage quite well in some difficult situation without lending money from other countries around the world. Furthermore, the living condition of people in nations having an economic progress is also becoming better and better. They may have a higher income or their need for shopping, entertainment is possibly served. However, everything has bad side and so does economic development. Giving an example, it can be the main cause of environmental pollution such as air or soil pollution when there are too many vehicles on the streets. Besides, cleaning down lots of forests to make room for hospitals, factories parks, restaurants... can also lead to soil erosion which is bad for agriculture.

From these negative impacts of economic progress, the governments should consider carefully to balance the development of both economy and other aspects. For instance, it is very important to better the education of the country because of its influence on children who are taking the key of success of the nations. Money can be invested on the modern appliances serving for teaching profession.

In short, to make countries become civilised, all fields in the daily life are really necessary so that the officials of each country should act right now to take advantages of them.